Romano Cracked Pepper Mac ‘n Cheese

image

This meal is not fancy. It is nostalgic, childhood comfort food, simply elevated a bit. I’ve been sick for the last few days, and all my upset stomach could, well, stomach, was butter toast with chicken soup, and applesauce. But this afternoon I was feeling well enough for some old-fashioned Kraft macaroni and cheese. My mom used to make me mac n cheese sometimes when I was ill, and I guess it stuck.

I decided to update it with just a handful of freshly grated Romano cheese (which is Parmeson’s better cousin, in my opinion), and a sprinkle of cracked black pepper. It was SO good. Really good. Really. If you’d prefer to make your own grown-up version of mac n cheese, feel free. But this is easy, tasty, and well, convenient.

Ingredients:

-Mac and cheese, prepared. (I always use real butter, and whole milk).

-1 cup freshly grated Romano cheese

-Black pepper

Directions:

-Cook mac and cheese according to package directions. After it is mixed, add the cheese and as much fresh ground black pepper as you like. Serve, and try to pace yourself. You *may* eat most of a box.

Tweak it:

-Swap Romano and pepper for Queso and Sriracha

-Remember your childhood fav of hot dogs cut in mac and cheese? Try slicing in some turkey kilbasa.

-Whip up 8 eggs, 1 cup of milk, some green onions, and the mac mixture. Bake in a buttered dish at 425 for about 30 minutes or until macaroni fritatta is cooked through.

Leave a Reply

