Carrot Edamame Spaghetti

20160718_201229

Tonight was a kind of hectic night. My family got home from my son’s baseball game, and my hubby and I were ravenous but trying to make a healthy choice. There was not much in the house, but I knew we had edamame pasta (basically soybeans and water), and baby carrots. I used to love carrot pasta when I was pregnant with baby #2, so I recalled that and got to work. It’s a quick, easy meal when you want something comforting yet healthy.

Ingredients:

Edamame pasta (I used the Asian Cuisine brand from Costco) (you can definitely substitute with the pasta of your choice, however), about 2 big handfuls

4 cups baby carrots (see? Easy. No peeling or chopping required!)

2 cups chicken broth

3 tbsp butter

1 cup shredded parmeson

1 tsp dry oregano (I had this on hand from my dad’s garden so I tossed it in)

Salt & Pepper

Directions:

Boil the baby carrots in a large pot of water. When tender, remove from the pot, reserving carrot water for boiling the pasta. Add the pasta.

Meanwhile, in a blender, puree the carrots and broth. You may add more broth, or water as needed.

Cook pasta until tender. Drain cooked noodles and add carrot sauce. Stir in butter, orgegano, salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with parmeson and stir throughout. Serve and enjoy!

Tweak it:

-Add cream instead of chicken broth and fresh parsley instead of oregano

-Add grilled chicken on top

-Add a can of tuna, and peas, sprinkle with cheddar and panko and bake until cheese is bubbly for a twist on tuna casserole.

 

Leave a Reply

